One of the most difficult things for human resource and absence management professionals to do is to keep up with changing state and local laws. Below is a brief summary of some new laws of interest:
Arizona voters passed a paid sick leave law. The law provides up to 40 hours of paid sick time per year to employees of large employers (15 or more employees) and 24 hours for employees of small employers. Employees accrue paid sick leave at the rate of one hour for every 30 hours worked. The law is effective in 2017.
Montgomery County, Maryland
Montgomery County has amended its paid sick leave law to require employers to allow eligible employees to use up to 56 hours of paid sick leave for birth, adoption, foster care or bonding with a child.
Full content is available to DMEC members only. Please log in to view the complete resource.
If you are not a DMEC member, we encourage you to join. DMEC members have access to white papers, case studies, @Work magazine articles, free webinars, legislative updates, and much more. These resources will assist you in building an effective and compliant integrated absence management program, saving you time, resources, and money. Learn more.
If you are being asked to log in more than once, please refresh your browser.