In June, San Francisco voters approved Proposition G, which created the Public Health Emergency Leave Ordinance (PHELO). The ordinance requires private employers to provide paid leave to employees for “public health emergencies.”
California has extended COVID-19 Supplemental Paid Sick Leave (SPSL) through Dec. 31, 2022. On Sept. 29, 2022, California’s Governor signed Assembly Bill (AB) 152 which amends the existing SPSL law and provides for state grants to certain employers.
On Sept. 29, 2022, California Governor Gavin Newsom signed Assembly Bill (AB) 1949, which amends the California Family Rights Act (CFRA) to require covered employers to provide eligible employees with 5 days of bereavement leave.
In June, San Francisco voters passed Proposition G, a new Public Health Emergency Leave Ordinance. The ordinance requires private employers to provide paid leave to employees for “public health emergencies.”
California’s Paid Family Leave (PFL) program, which is administered by the Employment Development Department (EDD) provides eligible employees with up to 8 weeks of wage replacement benefits when an employee is off work for certain qualifying reasons.
The California Employment Development Department (EDD) has released the Voluntary Plan Employee Contribution and Benefit Rates for 2022.
In June, California relaxed many of its COVID-19 restrictions, including allowing fully vaccinated individuals to go without a face covering indoors, with limited exception.
A week after issuing the first in the nation order mandating all healthcare workers to be vaccinated against COVID-19, on Aug. 11, 2021, the state of California issued an order mandating either vaccination or regular testing for all workers of schools throughout the state.
The California Department of Public Health issued a new “first in the nation” order mandating that workers who provide services or work in certain healthcare facilities receive their first dose of a one-dose vaccine or their second dose of a two-dose vaccine by Sep. 30, 2021.
California state and some local COVID-19 supplemental paid sick leave requirements continue through the summer, and the City of Los Angeles’ mayor issued a public order mandating additional paid leave.
The COVID-19 Supplemental Paid Sick Leave statute was signed into law a month ago and employers were faced with uncertainty as to whether their employee’s leave request qualified under the statute. Fortunately, the Labor Commissioner has updated its FAQs to provide further clarity to employers.
Though employers may feel like California just wrapped up its legislative session for 2020, the 2021 legislative session is already in full swing. Feb. 19 was the last day for the proposal of new bills.
On Jan. 1, 2021, the California Family Rights Act (CFRA) expanded in several ways, including that small employers (those with five or more employees) must now provide up to 12 workweeks of CFRA leave within a 12-month period to eligible employees.
California currently has a patchwork of local COVID-19 supplemental paid sick leave ordinances which remain in effect in 2021.
In 2020, employers with employees in California were inundated with new compliance requirements brought on by the COVID-19 pandemic. Now that the leave requirements of the FFCRA have expired, many local agencies are reviewing the supplemental sick leave ordinances that were adopted in 2020.
The Department of Fair Employment and Housing (DFEH), the administrative agency charged with enforcing the California Family Rights Act (CFRA), has released new documentation for Family and Medical Leave that reflects the expansion of CFRA which went into effect on Jan. 1, 2021.
When the federal Families First Coronavirus Response Act (FFCRA) expired on Dec. 31, 2020, COVID-19-related leave was no longer assured for many employees throughout the United States unless another law, like the Family and Medical Leave Act or the Americans with Disabilities Act, applies.
In September, when Governor Newsom signed Assembly Bill 1867, employers hoped that the state-wide COVID-19 Supplemental Leave was a replacement for the patchwork of local ordinances. However, due to differences in coverage, many employers are faced with complying with the more stringent local ordinances.
California wrapped up its 2020 Legislative Session with the Governor passing several bills that bring dramatic changes to employee leave requirements.
California employers with as few as five employees must provide family and medical leave rights to their employees under a new law signed by Governor Gavin Newsom on Sep. 17, 2020. The new law significantly expands the state’s existing family and medical leave entitlements and goes into effect on Jan. 1, 2021.
- Page 1 of 2