Based on experience advising hundreds of employers and closely watching court rulings on cases around the country, below are a few tips for complying with the Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA).
The New Mexico Healthy Workplaces Act (“NMHWA”) requires all private employers in New Mexico to provide all employees one hour of paid sick leave for every 30 hours worked.
Both Maryland and Virginia have joined the District of Columbia in enacting laws relating to paid family and medical leave for private-sector workers.
The D.C. Council has adopted legislation that “removes one of the biggest obstacles workers say prevents them from getting the COVID-19 vaccine” by ensuring paid time off for both vaccination and recovery from any side effects.
Employers covered by the Duluth, Minnesota Sick and Safe Time ordinance will need to revisit relevant policies in light of amendments that will become effective Aug. 19, 2021.
The Chicago City Council amended its Paid Sick Leave Ordinance (PSLO) to clarify and expand the bases to take paid leave and to create a new action for wage theft.
Beginning July 25, 2021, employees can use Washington Paid Family and Medical Leave (WPFML) to care for more people.
Employee question of the day for HR: “I need time off because I’m donating a kidney.” You’re probably wondering: “How do I respond to this request? Is this incredibly generous employee entitled to protected leave?”
The Washington State Legislature has temporarily amended the state’s Paid Family and Medical Leave (PFML) Act to create pandemic leave assistance grants for certain employees and employers.
Effective Jul. 1, 2021, Virginia provides designated paid sick leave for home health workers.
Beginning on July 1, 2022, New Mexico will join 15 other states (and Washington, D.C.) in requiring private employers to provide paid sick leave to their employees.
Effective immediately, New York State employers must provide employees with up to four hours of paid time off per COVID-19 vaccination.
On Mar. 11, 2021, President Biden signed the American Rescue Plan Act of 2021. The Plan extends the date employers can receive tax credits for qualified wages paid to employees from Mar. 31, 2021 until Sep. 30, 2021.
On Dec. 29, 2020, the U.S. Department of Labor issued two field assistance bulletins aimed at clarifying obligations under the Family and Medical Leave Act in light of the prevalence of telework and telehealth.
When the federal Families First Coronavirus Response Act (FFCRA) expired on Dec. 31, 2020, COVID-19-related leave was no longer assured for many employees throughout the United States unless another law, like the Family and Medical Leave Act or the Americans with Disabilities Act, applies.
The New York State Paid Sick Leave Law and the amendments to the New York City Paid Safe and Sick Leave Law expanding employees’ paid sick leave entitlements went into full effect on Jan. 1, 2021.
Colorado voters approved the Paid Medical and Family Leave (PMFL) Initiative, Proposition 118, on Election Day. PMFL creates a state-run paid family and medical leave insurance program in Colorado that allows employees to take up to 12 weeks of leave and keep their job.
As the Jan. 1, 2021, effective date of Maine’s Earned Paid Employee Leave Law approaches, the state Department of Labor (DOL) has promulgated the much-anticipated final regulations for implementing the statute.
Colorado has enacted the Healthy Families and Workplaces Act (SB20-205) (HFWA) to require employers to provide employees with up to six days, or up to 48 hours, of earned paid sick leave.
After three years of preparation, the District of Columbia’s Universal Paid Leave Amendment Act of 2016 went live on Wednesday, July 1.
- Page 1 of 2