Increase Your Professional Value

Become a Certified Leave Management Specialist

CLMS Logo_RGB_PNGAs state and federal leave laws continue to expand, more and more companies are finding the need for professional leave management specialists. Distinguishing yourself as a leave expert can be a challenging task — DMEC’s new Certified Leave Management Specialist (CLMS) training is the answer!

Exclusively offered by DMEC, the CLMS program is the only professional designation of its kind that provides interactive, hands-on training to ensure your programs effectively comply with state and federal leave laws. Set yourself apart from the competition with our user-friendly, online self-study course.

Over five self-guided and self-paced modules (which takes approximately 20 hours to complete), you will learn from real life scenarios and test your knowledge with interactive quizzes and a final exam. Downloadable toolkits, sample policies, documents, up-to-date guidance, resources, and forms will also be provided to help you effectively meet today’s legal and regulatory challenges!

Open New Doors and Opportunities
    • Improve your leave management skills and expertise
    • Build confidence in your knowledge of the profession
    • Earn credibility and respect from your colleagues
    • Add value to your organization
    • Advance your career
CLMS Modules
    • Overview and Federal FMLA Basics
    • Federal and State FMLA
    • The Lifecycle of an FMLA Event and Americans with Disabilities Act
    • Managing Leaves and Company Policy Integration
    • People First

CLMS Course Demo

If you’re interested in learning more about the online course, the demo video below will walk you through a preview of what you’ll cover in each of the five modules and the learning formats featured throughout the course.

Who Should Participate

This program is for anyone looking to develop their leave management skills — from entry level human resource personnel just starting out to seasoned managers overseeing outsourced programs for tens of thousands of lives.

Designation and Ongoing Requirements

Following completion of the online course, you must pass a final exam that will cover the knowledge necessary to manage and administer a fully-compliant leave program within your company. Initial CLMS designation is valid for two years. Designation renewal can be achieved every two years by acquiring 16 CEUs and re-testing.

Pricing & Registration

To learn more about pricing and registration for the CLMS program, visit the pricing and registration page. Group discounts are available for groups of five or more.

What’s the Difference Between CLMS and CPDM

The new CLMS designation is different from DMEC’s existing Certified Professional Disability Management (CPDM) program. The CPDM curriculum is geared towards individuals involved in the day-to-day management of health, benefits, and worker’s compensation, and provides tools to run an effective integrated absence management program.

The new CLMS designation is for individuals involved in the day-to-day management of state and federal leaves of absence, and has a specific focus on the Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) and Americans with Disabilities Act ( ADA), whether it is handled internally or if the program is outsourced. Professionals who have earned the CPDM designation can “test out” of the CLMS course by passing the final exam and earning the additional designation.

What CLMS Designees Are Saying